Skip to content

My trans life

October 9, 2016

andrea6b

Last October 8th, I told you all a story about who I am. I can’t tell you how terrified I was to do that.

I was sure that day and the ones since were absolutely impossible. But here I am a year later.

I’m Andrea. It’s kind of boring really. I’m just me. As I walk the earth, people treat me as I hoped they would. While there’s so much that could be said, there’s not really much that needs be said. As time goes on, my transition is less and less newsworthy.

One side of me wonders why I should say the following, since I’m just another human being. But a significant part of me would like to offer my heartfelt thanks for you accepting me as I am.

To the very small number who have invested effort to be mean or disruptive to my life, I wonder why you bother? Maybe in time you’ll stop worrying. I wish you a wonderful life so that mine is less of a concern for you.

A few people have drifted out of my life, and that’s OK. I have made some really wonderful new friends. Some friends, I have become much closer to. I don’t hide how I feel, and so you know who you are and how much I cherish the friendship with you.

My path was made tremendously easier by those who pushed for LGBT rights and acceptance long before my transition. I owe you such a debt. To honour that debt, I try to be a positive force today for the future.

Happy birthday to me! 🙂

From → Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. Lisa permalink

    Happy birthday! ❤

Leave a Reply

