Skip to content

My name is now Andrea

October 8, 2015

This is my story I was afraid to tell you. I still am afraid how you’ll react, but I’m doing it anyway.

As best I can tell, roughly 1% of the population are the same as me. We have a gene flipped. A little thing really. Similar to being left or right handed, brown or black hair, blue eyes or brown, pale skin or dark. I have a characteristic that is sometimes noticeable and sometimes less so. In my case, I am transgendered.

Why am I coming out about this now? Many reasons. I guess the important one is that I am who I am, and I need to walk the earth as that person.

If you’re curious, I am not broken. I am not mentally ill. I’m just a regular person, a good person, who just happens to be transgendered. No more or less worthy. It’s really not a problem. It’s not harmful. It just is.

OK, if you’ve read this far, here’s the part where I need your help please:

It is my wish that you call me Andrea (on-DRAY-ah) from now on. Please also use pronouns like she, her, etc. when referring to me. It’s obviously going to take me a little bit to update the many places my name is used, however I am doing so. Thank you.

(FYI, scroll down past the ads & such to view comments people have left)

From → Uncategorized

9 Comments
  1. Sheila Ross permalink

    My love, we have known and loved each other for more than 20 years and I stand with you, proud to be your wife as you take this next huge step.

    To all reading who are wondering about me, I have known about this longer than anyone – some pieces I have known about for many years. I have witnessed Andrea come to this place after a great deal of self-discovery and I support her all the way. All I want for her is to be happy, and there is no way I want her to spend the rest of her life fighting who she is the way she did so hard for 40 years. I wouldn’t wish that kind of misery on anyone, least of all someone I love.

    While there have been things I have had to let go of and grieve, and changes I have had to learn to accept, there is so very much that I cherish about Andrea and our relationship that remains, and she remains the person I want to live my life with.

    • I had hoped I could get through today without crying. I was barely hanging on with so many kind emails and messages. I suppose it’s no surprise that just flew out the window reading your comment. Sheila, I love you so much. I don’t have the words to properly convey how wonderful it has been the past 23 years and how much I look forward to many more with you. I am so fortunate.

  2. Deep thanks to my boss Mike for the really nice post over here: https://mmilinkov.wordpress.com/2015/10/08/hello-andrea/

  3. The thing we can all strive for is to be “the best you you can be.” So, go be the best you you can Andrea

  4. I was deeply moved by your post, Andrea, and then all heck broke loose when I read Sheila’s reply. Darn allergies- sniff sniff. I’m happy to know that you’ve become who you were meant to be, and that you have a partner who supports you. So many don’t.
    🙂

  5. Victor Olaya permalink

    Having someone by your side who can write such beautiful words to you…I guess you won’t need much more, but in any case, best of luck from me. You show a lot of courage, and that’s always something to admire. I hope we meet again soon.

  6. Good luck in this new adventure. Looking forward to continuing working with you!

  7. Hi Andrea, all the best for you on your further journey. It’s such an important step forward to live your life as you feel. I do know how important it is to have a partner at your side like Sheila.

  8. Andrea, life is full of happiness when you know who you are, and who you want to be – And it’s a joy when we can get to see others like you blossom! best, k@

Leave a Reply

